Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Open

with 2 comments

With the state of the world, and I suppose also the state of my life (really, really not so very bad, but next year’s work situation shook me a bit), I’m feeling a little like shrinking away.  It’s not a great feeling, probably because it’s a survival mechanism, and I’d like to get away from the shrinky feeling now and out into the world again.

But, sometimes if you’re not open, I think life can pry you open.  I’m not so sure I’m up for prying right now, though, I think that giving in and opening up, rather than trying to get smaller and and further away and more closed off is the more productive way to go (and quite possible the most interesting and useful as well.  So instead of shrinking, I’m trying to be open.  It’s not always easy – sometimes it’s downright hard – but I think it will be worthwhile in the end, especially after this odd initial feeling passes on through.

Open means a few different things here, some of which are easier than others.

It means…

Open to opportunities other than those that I initially expected – smaller contracts, other cities, new countries.

Open to new ways of living – more frugality, less consumption.

Open to challenges – finding the best ways to manage in somewhat uncertain times.

Open to gratitude – looking for the positives anywhere I can.

Open to being open – I’m rather fond of control, and being open can be…well, a bit of a stretch.

No telling where I’ll end up on the other side, I suppose, but I’m looking forward to trying this openness out a bit more and seeing where I wind up and whether anything changes.

Written by Jenn

April 8, 2011 at 1:08 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a fantastic attitude. My experience of change is that openess to the new opportunities that can come is the key to surviving and thriving. Good luck with all the fun new stuff that’s just around the corner.

    queen of string

    April 9, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence – this is something I have not always been so good at (change and I are not always so friendly), but I’m trying to keep this in mind as best I can.

      Jenn

      April 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

