Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Torn

with 2 comments

Every so often the Ontario Power Authority sends out coupon booklets for savings on things like CFLs, programmable thermostats, and energy star appliances.

And, every so often, the recycling bin beside the mail area for my building is filled with those same coupon booklets.

I don’t know if it’s that people don’t read them because they think they’re junk mail, are already completely stocked up on energy efficient lights, or simply just don’t care, but I’m always torn.  While I’m delighted that a bit of digging nets me a bunch of extra coupon books, it also means that other people aren’t taking advantage of them, which I’m just not sure bodes all that well.

Written by Jenn

March 26, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Posted in Sustainable living

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just stumbled across your blog this morning. I wish I had more time to spend here reading more of your past posts, but that will have to wait for another day. I have too many things needing my attention today. But, I will be back another day to really read and enjoy what you have shared.

    I did want to tell you why someone might not want those coupons – they cannot use the energy efficient lightbulbs. I have tried to use them, and family members have snuck them in to see if I notice a difference – I do every single time. For whatever odd reason, my eyes can tell the difference in the color the bulbs emit and the color makes my eyes ache and hurt. I can’t wear sunglasses because of the color of the lens. I even avoid one grocery store chain here in Pennsylvania that has wonderful bargains and a large organic section because the color of lightbulbs they use hurts my eyes. Sad, but true.

    Valerie

    April 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

    • That’s a very fair point, and one that I probably should have though of, since I actually can’t use the uncovered ones – they bother my eyes as well. I think it just bothered me that all of these coupons were just tossed out rather than used, especially when there were some great ideas in there for everything from energystar products through to clotheslines. But, happily, I’ll still be able to use them.

      Jenn

      April 2, 2011 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

