Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Productive

with one comment

Some weekends, I rest.  I appreciate the time to sit, to read, to visit with friends, to simply take it easy and be, which is something so many of us don’t do enough of.

This weekend was productive, though, and even at its end I find myself energized and ready to take on that little bit more.

I’ve taken on a bunch of academic work, and made what will likely be huge strides towards completing my research.  I’ve also tackled work for other projects that need completing, and crossed many of them off my to do list.

The biggest gains have been around home, though.  I’ve managed to clean the tub, the tile, the ceiling, and the mirror in the bathroom, and to sort through some of the laundry.  I’ve done all the dishes, swept the floor, cleaned under the sink, decluttered a bit, cleaned the sink, the counters, and the stove.  I’ve baked bread, and now have home fries and a veggie quiche baking in the oven.

As much as I take satisfaction in rest on the weekends, especially after a long or otherwise trying week, there’s also satisfaction in productivity and in actually getting concrete things done (perhaps especially for those of us who spend much of our time living in our heads).  Although I imagine I’ll be tired very shortly – especially after the pleasures of dinner – I’m pleased with what’s been done, and feel far more grounded and centered now that work has been done and the results are visible.

Written by Jenn

February 6, 2011 at 8:42 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Erm, bad news…..
    **Copy message to all blogfriends -I’m locked out of magicalmeadows by Blogger because I messed up my passwords. If I can’t rectify it today looks like I’ll have to start up a new blog *sigh* right when I’m at my busiest. In the meantime you can email me if needs be on ms_pam_ella@hotmail.com.** End message.
    So things have been a bit quiet around here, save for the expletives and knashing of teeth grrrr:(
    Have a great weekend, love pamela xxx

    pamela

    February 11, 2011 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

