Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Good luck at Goodwill

with one comment

After being without a computer for a bit (three fun issues, just to add a little spice to life), I stopped by the goodwill bookstore on my way home from the repair shop where it was undergoing diagnostics.  I sometimes lament how tempting its proximity to home is, since this poor little apartment has a rather large number of books in it already, but I really, honestly love it – great selection, great people, and supporting a charity at the same time – definitely right up my alley, so to speak.

Given that the weather has suddenly become incredibly cold, and that I was already somewhat chilled from waiting for two different buses, I seriously debating stopping.  I’m pleased that I did, though.

First, I stumbled across two young adult (I think) books that I’ve been wanting to read – “I Captured the Castle” and “The Yearling“.  Next, I found a copy of “Four Season Harvest“, which deals with ways to extend the life of a garden and keep production up through the whole year.  Finally, I stumbled across “Locavore” and “The 100 Mile Diet,” both of which I’d been considering from amazon relatively recently, but had decided to hold off on.  I’m now glad that I did.

The grand total for 5 books?  $16, or quite affordable.  I’m still trying to reduce my shopping as much as possible, and get stuff out of the apartment, but I’m pleased with these books, which are either classics, or good information and inspiration for my own efforts in living and eating more sustainably.  And now, I’m going to curl up on the couch with a book, a blanket, and some tea, and have a quiet afternoon.

Written by Jenn

January 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, so I need my computer to break and then I’ll have more time to get on with reading all the books I have on standby. Good plan! Wait…I didn’t mean that…..no computer/mixed blessings/arrggg;)
    Glad that you have such a great bookshop locally *jealous sigh*
    xxx

    pamela

    January 22, 2011 at 2:47 am


Leave a Reply

