Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Enough

leave a comment »

Recently, I’ve found myself complaining – here, in real life, even in yet-unpublished blog posts – about how I have too much stuff. This is, of course, true. Some of it needs to go. But, today, rather than seeing it as a burden, I want to see it as a blessing.

It’s a blessing because I have enough, and my life is comfortable as a result.

I may have too much bedding, but I always have a cozy place to sleep.

I may have too many clothes, but I’m always warm, and always have something nice to wear.

I may have two many pots and dishes, but I can cook lots of healthy, tasty food, and feed many people.

I may have too many books, but I have lots of interesting and useful things to read, and to loan or give to friends.

I may have too much stuff, but I have enough that I can live a comfortable life which is, sadly, not something that everyone in this world can say.

Things are still on their way out the door, of course, but I know that I have enough, and for that I am very grateful. At the same time, I hope that what I give away will be useful to other people, and maybe even help to make sure that they too have enough.

Written by Jenn

December 17, 2010 at 12:03 am

Posted in Personal stuff

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

