Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Riot for Austerity

with one comment

I’ve been considering the Riot for Austerity recently – partly as a possible project, but perhaps more generally as a baseline of something to work towards in the long-term, and to keep improving at as I go.  I think it’s incredibly important to do, as tough as it might be, and on some level we just don’t have a huge amount of choice in the matter anymore.  I can’t say I’m going to follow this completely to the letter.  Right now, trying to track all of these different elements is sounding daunting if not flat-out frustrating.  But I’m going to do my best to see what I can do about getting my consumption of resources down to 90 percent of the American average.

Now, for the specifics.  The goals:

1 – Gasoline: 50 gallons (189 liters) per person, per year / 4.7 gallons (17.8 liters per month).
2 – Electricity: 1,100 kwh per household, per year / 90 kwh per household, per month.

3 – Heating and Cooking Energy: These both fall under electricity for me.

4 – Garbage: 0.45 lbs of garbage per person, per day.

5 – Water: 10 gallons (37.9 liters) per person, per day.

6 – Consumer Goods: 1,000 dollars per household, per year.

7 – Food:  70 percent local and organic, 25 percent dry bulk, and 5 percent wet goods.

Given that there are a number of metrics here that I simply don’t have access to right now, I feel like I might be living by the motto “if in doubt, CUT!” for the next little while.  If I’m not sure I’m where I should be, the best solution for now, I think, is to go as low as possible.  It’s not going to be perfect – like I said, taking on this level of detail right now is feeling like more of a burden than a challenge – but so long as I know where I am and where I’d like to be, I can keep working towards a 90 percent reduction as I go.

Written by Jenn

November 9, 2010 at 7:37 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi lovely lady!

    How’s your Nanowrimo project going? Would love to hear from you over on the blog if you get the chance!

    Andrea x

    Andrea

    November 10, 2010 at 1:16 am


Leave a Reply

