Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

10×30 and The Anyway Project

with 4 comments

This week has not lent itself to the starting of projects like I’d imagined it would.  In addition to starting my 10×30 decluttering project and The Anyway Project, I was hoping to do some NaNoWriMo, as well as the academic-type equivalent.  I’ve done okay on the academic, but between a late-running project and utter exhaustion, the others took a back seat.

Until today.

After a sleep in until after noon, today, glory be, is the first day I’ve felt really human in awhile now.  I’ve taken the weekend off, and I’m feeling inspired and ready to go and catch up on the things that slipped by the wayside (the promise of Thai food for dinner, a rare treat, is also helping the motivation.

For The Anyway Project, Sharon’s set up seven categories that I’ve been giving some thought to:  Domestic Economy, Household Economy, Resource Consumption, Farm and Subsistence, Family and Community, Outside Work, and Time and Happiness.  While I have plans for all of them, the focus right now seems to be on domestic economy – really focusing on my home and how it can be better set up to meet my needs.  In some ways, this comes down to a lot of decluttering.  But as I get rid of things, I also want to consider if there’s anything home needs to make it more functionable or suitable (insulation comes to mind, which is another project on the books), as well as ways in which it can be better organized to work better for the ways that we use it.

Right now, I think this comes down to a few things.  First, it gets cold in here in the winter, and this is something that needs to be addressed.  We’ve started, but have a few other things to try as well.  I’d also like to make sure that there’s room for people to come over.  And, with people coming over, anything that helps up keep the place tidy enough that there isn’t a last minute scrable to clean before they arrive would also be lovely.  Finally, with a few projects in mind for this year – worm composter, more baking and cooking, and possibly some attempts at indoor growing over the winter, I need appropriate spaces, so clearing and arranging them now would be helpful.

These are just a few things – I’m sure more will come up as I actually tackle the work.  But for now, I’m off to find some things I can get rid of, tackle the dishes, and try to make this place just a bit tidier and less full by the end of the day today.

Written by Jenn

November 6, 2010 at 1:55 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI Jenn,

    I love the idea behind your blog. I almost got spine chills reading it as I felt it related so closely to what I have been thinking a lot about lately. I recently have gone through a MASSSIVE declutter….let’s call it Phase 1 and am thinking about what I would like to get out of Phase 2. All I can say is that is was such a huge relief to release all of those things! They were weighing me down! I am also currently putting in a garden and as it is all new for me I am excited at the prospect of being able to provide food from my own land!! I have just started a blog in the past few weeks and plan on discussing my transformation from being consumed by consumerism (literally!) to learning about how to be sustainable. It is a long road and I have so much to learn but it is exciting when I see other people on that same path!! Well done!! You can check out my blog at http://www.sweetnektar.wordpress.com , let me know what you think…I’m just new to blogging and it’s early days!!!

    stephammo

    November 7, 2010 at 3:24 am

    • Hi Steph – I have to admit, I find myself a little stuck in the decluttering sometimes, but it does feel so good to get rid of things in the end, and the transformation in general feels like such a good thing. I have lots of plans still – some which work better in an apartment than others – but it’s been a good process so far – I look forward to reading about yours as well!

      Jenn

      November 7, 2010 at 9:26 am

  2. Yes, it really is such a good feeling!! I have so many plans in my head (very slow moving so far!!) but my problem is breaking them down into mini projects so that I can actually achieve what I want. We moved to NZ a year ago so I still feel like I am getting to know my surroundings, all the while trying to change my surroundings which is a bit challenging with 3 kids in tow. Lucky for me NZ is very pro-sustainability and perma-culture so I just need to buckle down and learn, then make one little change at a time. I bought my first preserving jars the other day!! Baby steps!!! Loving your ideas!!

    stephammo

    November 20, 2010 at 5:21 am

    • I did my first-ever preserving this year, and it was both fun and tasty – good luck with yours! I actually envy you being in New Zealand – Canada isn’t bad, but it’s not particularly fantastic for sustainability either, and I find general social attitudes can help a lot.

      Jenn

      November 20, 2010 at 10:32 am


Leave a Reply

