Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Resting

leave a comment »

After the end of October, I’m wiped.  I’ve completed a job application and a funding application, finished off the most pressing part of a massive journal project, written a chapter draft, and kept up with my other academic duties.  This week, I lectured twice and went to meetings.  Tonight, I polished off the last of the current round of grading.

There are more things that need to be done, of course, important things that simply got pushed back a bit because of other timelines.  I’ll get to those too.  But for now, I’m resting.

For the last few days I’ve been so tired that I’m a breath away from tears a lot of the time.  I’m also cranky like nobody’s business, and a bit “punchy” as my mom likes to say.   While I don’t think I’ve been untolerable, it’s been somewhat unpleasant not only to be around me, but also to be me.

And that is why I’m taking this weekend off to do what I want to do.  I may catch up on reading, or cleaning, or writing, but I’ll be doing only what I want to and feel like doing.  There’s cooking and baking I want to do, and novels I want to read.  There are walks to take in this rapidly cooling season, and warm blankets and tea and movies and books to enjoy at home.  There are friends to call and people to visit.  It may not all happen this weekend, but I very much need the break to sink back into myself again, and get into the mindset to do the other things that still need doing.

Tonight, late as it is, there will be tea and cranberry jelly in oatmeal, some TV with The Boy, and maybe a bath with a novel before I pack myself off to bed early.  Tomorrow, who knows, but if nothing else it feels wonderful to have an open schedule and the room for doing what I want, rather than what simply has to be done.

Written by Jenn

November 5, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

