Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Gratitude

with 2 comments

I’ve spent a lot of time complaining recently about the amount of work I have to do.  Some of it is my regular teaching duties, while some is other jobs that I’ve taken on.  One project especially has been coming in later than it was supposed to, crunching a lot of things together into these last two weeks.

It’s been hard.  I am very tired as a result.  We’re almost there, but not quite, and a few things have had to slip as a result.  It’s not the end of the world, but it’s left me feeling off-kilter and cranky as a result.  Hence the complaining.

Really, though, I should be grateful, and focused on all the good that’s come out of this for me.  Because of this work, I’ve made enough money to cover my tuition this year, which otherwise would have had to come out of savings.  I’ve had some great experience, and have a really great job listed on my CV.  I’ve met and interacted with some fantastic people who I hope to keep in touch with.  I’ve had the opportunity to work through some of my own research and get feedback on it.  I’ve submitted a few necessarily applications for various things.

And most of all, despite the few things that had to slide, I’m grateful that somehow it’s all getting done.  That despite the shifting deadlines, the late papers, the many things that needed to get done, I’ve managed it all.  I may be tired, and a bit cranky, but I feel as though I’ve accomplished something, and that is a lovely feeling.

But now?  Now I would like some sleep.

Written by Jenn

November 1, 2010 at 12:31 am

Posted in Working stiff

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds like a very worthwhile project. Well done! I’m always juggling things and catching up later, it seems to come with the territory.

    I hope you’ve had a good sleep and are on tops of things again. Take care.

    rhonda jean

    November 2, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words, Rhonda. I sometimes wonder, given that there’s still a bit of a divide between my work life and my personal life, if some of the projects that I do take on are worthwhile, but in this case, I think this one was for reasons that range from the practical to the ideological.

      Jenn

      November 3, 2010 at 1:56 am


Leave a Reply

