Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Anachronistic

with 3 comments

I study a relatively high-tech field, then come home and cook from scratch and knit on the couch.  I almost always have a laptop with me for work, but I listen to record on vinyl sometimes in the evening.  I have an iPod, but have a rotary dial phone hooked up in my kitchen by choice.  I can’t decide if I’m the best or the worst luddite ever.  At best, though, I think I’m at least a bit of an anachronism.

I don’t have a cell phone, and my favourite phone is a black rotary dial one that lives in the kitchen.  There’s also a pale pink/beige one on the bookshelf.  (I’m holding out for a red one).  While I’m still just hoping to learn to use it properly, I’m looking to replace my calculator with a slide rule.  When spending an evening at home I sometimes like to put a record on my turntable, usually James Taylor, or Jackson Browne, or Neil Young.  In the kitchen, I use older cast iron almost exclusively, and refuse teflon or anything that’s non-stick without just being well seasoned.  I have a hand egg-beater that I love to use, a food mill, and a stove-top kettle that have served me well.  My carpet sweeper means that I don’t need an electricity-hungry vacuum.

I’m not anachronistic in all ways, of course.  I use a computer for all of my work and, for now anyway, the typewriters simply sit (they need new ribbons, but I need some digital capacities).  I have an iPod that comes on bus rides and long runs with me.  I appreciate my brand new stove, my on-command hot water

Given the choice, I’d rather not only choose, but also use, old rather than new.  In some cases, I simply have newer versions of older things.  My record player, for instance, was new a number of years ago when I couldn’t find a working used version, as was the carpet sweeper I bought only a few weeks ago now.  But in most cases, I prefer the originals.  While almost all of my anacronistic-type things were inexpensive, that’s not really the point here.  Rather, the point is that I like old ways of doing things.  I like the quality inherent in many of the older things that I use, and the fact that they’ve lasted as long as they have.  They make sense for me, they work for me.  They feel as though they offer a sense of permanence, a link not only to the past, but the way things used to be.

I know in some ways that this is a somewhat romantic notion.  Some things – a return to the wringer washers, or the hauling of water – may not be desirable for some people (although, personally, I wonder sometimes how much I would actually mind.)  But I appreciate older things, a slow way of doings things, and even a return to more conscious, thoughtful way of living life.  If that’s what being a bit of an anacronism gets me, then I can work with that.

Written by Jenn

October 19, 2010 at 1:57 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You sound very much like me! 🙂

    Frugal Trenches

    October 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

  2. I have only recently discovered your blog and am really enjoying reading through all of your posts. I found you through Cluttercut and the things you write about are very similar to the way I have been thinking.
    Thanks

    Bruise Mouse

    October 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by – it’s always nice to know that other people are thinking along the same lines.

      Jenn

      October 21, 2010 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

