Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Winter’s coming

leave a comment »

Okay, okay – I know no one really wants to think about this yet (sorry!), especially since fall is barely upon us.  But by planning now for what needs to be done to have a relatively comfortable winter, it’s possible to save a bunch of time and headaches.

Depending on situations, there are a lot of ways to prep for winter.  My list isn’t actually that long right now, and some items are more necessities than others, but I want to get a clear idea now of what I want to do and need to do as the days keep getting shorter and cooler in this neck of the woods.

The biggest things for us right now is planning to keep comfortable.  It gets cold here, and this apartment is neither well heater nor well insulated.  This year, we want to start prepping for the cold early by caulking and insulating the windows and doors, and looking into low-cost, energy efficient heating solutions that we can try.

The next big thing is cash flow.  I’ve got some savings, and although I’ll still be making enough to cover basic expenses, my income is about to drop off a bit more.  While we haven’t exactly been spending the big bucks, some further belt tightening will be in order to ensure that we stay in a relatively comfortable financial position.  I haven’t been as tight about spending as perhaps I could be, and a few tweaks will make some difference in our cash flow, so that’s in the works right now.

Also this year I’d like to get a plan in place for growing some more food.  In the past, I’ve missed deadlines for planting seeds, and wound up buying a few starter plants here and there.  This year, I’d like to know what needs to be started when, and come up with a better plan for how to fit things in better outside, and make the most of the available space for a bit of food production.  There are limits, of course, but getting the planning startednow should help to really get some good use out of what we’ve got.

Finally, this year I’d like to keep a better eye on what I eat.  From a health standpoint this makes sense, but also from a financial one.  I have a lot of food stored here, and given the relatively high likelihood of moving sometie in the near-ish future, I’d like to start working through what I’ve got here.  I’d also like to set up some easy to follow menus.  I get sidetracked a lot during the week, which wastes time and, in a lot of cases, food.  Knowing what I can make with what I have on hand seems like a good way to use up food I’ve already bought and improve our diet.

These are the big ones for now, although I’m sure there are other projects that will come up, and other things that need to be done.  For now, I’m going to sit down with a seed catalogue and start planning out when to start planting some seeds, and where they’ll wind up down the road.

Written by Jenn

October 14, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

