Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Yesterday and today

leave a comment »

Yesterday, I bought my food from local farmers.  I asked how they were doing, said hi to their kids.  I used my reuseable bags to hail hom leeks four feet tall, brussel sprouts still on the stalk, sausage from happy and hormone free pigs, and peppers picked just the day before.

Today, I walked into the grocery store and looked for “Product of Ontario” listed amongst all the other products stamped as being of the USA, Peru, and Mexico.  Beyond the produce section I faced down aisle after aisle of heavily processed, over salted, corn based, not-quite food.

This has, admittedly, been the pattern through the summer.  I buy a lot at the market – as much as I can, really – and then get things that aren’t available there like rice and beans and spices (okay, and chocolate) at the grocery store.

But yesterday was the last day of the market for the season.  And, as I stepped in the store today, the reality of the store really sunk in.  I realised that for the forseeable future almost all of my food will be coming from the grocery store, and not directly from the farmers.  I am, of course, looking into other options.  The food co-op isn’t so far.  There’s a boxed fruit and veggie delivery service that I may make use of.  There are , as there usually are, options.  But today was a harsh realization of how much better the market feels, and how important it’s become for me.

Written by Jenn

October 9, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

