Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Today

leave a comment »

There’s a lot of work to be done around here.  Two jobs.  One dissertation.  Research and writng.  A governmental application of the “holy crap is this ever huge!” variety.  Excercise.  Eating.  Trying to keep the apartment at least reminiscent of clean.

I’ve been in a work mood recently.  While the apartment and perhaps exercise have slipped by the wayside a bit, it’s been productive.

Today’s turning into another one of these days.  I’ve spent the morning so far on the couch.  Since 7:30 I’ve managed to get a lot of writing done, emails dealt with, and I have some editing on the go as well.  I’m sitting propped up on the couch, wool blanket over my knees, window propped slightly open, tea on the table beside me, and the Anthology of American Folk Music Anthology Revisited playing.

The key for me, I find, is to make work feel as pleasant as possible.  Sometimes writing is frustrating.  Sometimes editing is tedious.  Sometimes research can be a drag.  While I generally love what I do, there are things about it that are not exciting or thrilling.  But, by setting myself comfortably, with things that I love around me, the work becomes more tolerable, even enjoyable.  They’re small things, of course, but they make a difference.

Written by Jenn

October 7, 2010 at 11:48 am

Posted in Working stiff

Leave a Reply

