Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

No spending, week two

with 2 comments

Sometimes, life just gets busy.  I’ve spent a huge amount of time on dissertation work this week, which is great, but it hasn’t really left a whole lot of time for anything else.  Like writing here (I’m thinking the series of thrift posts I was thinking of might have to be spread out far more significantly than I thought that they would).  Or, more happily, like shopping.

Partly because of my current time limitations, but mostly because of the increased willpower after week one, I’ve had a pretty good no shopping week.  Here’s the report, such as it is.

The Bad:  Nothing really and truly bad to report, I don’t think.  I didn’t do much in the way of recreational shopping, so this category is a bit blank, which is excellent and pretty much exactly what I was going for.

The Questionable:  First, a book that I wanted to read, but that also goes along with my current as well as some future research interests.  The Boy and I happened to be near the used book store, so we headed in for a few minutes and I walked out with Jane Jacob’s “Cities and the Wealth of Nations” which links to my current work on some economic things, as well as a standing research interest in the city.  It’s probably not strictly necessary, but it’s something I’ll use.

The Boy and I also went out for dinner with friends.  I didn’t actually think of this when I was plotting this out, and I certainly didn’t say anything about not buying dinners out, but for some reason, this one still makes me feel a tad odd sometimes, but that could also be the result of eating at the local all-you-can-eat sushi place which is a bit on the pricey side.  To be fair, though, we’re supporting a local business, had a lovely time with friends, and really just don’t do this very often at all.

The Good:  Other than these two questionable things, there’s been no shopping on my end other than for groceries.  I’ve picked up a few things at the farmer’s market ad we’ve been to the grocery store.  We also picked up some snacks to have with friends one night, which is not usually on my shopping radar and sometimes makes me a bit twitchy, but I really haven’t stepped out of bounds at all.

Despite the amount of work that I’m doing, I’ve also been feeling like I have more time available to me.  I’m not sure if I’m just managing the time that I have better, or if not shopping is making a difference (could I have been shopping that much before?  It doesn’t feel like it, but I don’t really know…) but I take more time to exercise, read, cook, bake, hang out with friends, and tidy up now, which has been really lovely.  It also seems like whatever urges to go shopping that I have have been slipping away a bit, which is also a nice effect.

So, all in all it’s been a good week.  While I have no plans to shop next week – in part because I just have so much to do – this could be an interesting one since I have a pile of books to buy as well as a rather expensive computer program.  They’re for research, and will ultimately be paid for by grant money, but those will likely wind up cropping up in next week’s write up.

Written by Jenn

July 17, 2010 at 9:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All right Jenn. You’re doing fab with the no shopping; I love how you are able to change you. Stay the course.

    Lynda

    July 19, 2010 at 3:33 am


Leave a Reply

