Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Stopping shopping: The plan

leave a comment »

Although I seriously cut down my already limited shopping these last few weeks, July is the month  where I stop any kind of casual shopping.  While I don’t like putting rules on myself all that much – they make me want to resist – I thought a plan might be in order with a few limitations.

1.   No casual shopping – books, clothes, music, and household items are out.  Food, drugs, and regular utilities are, of course, fine.

2.  I will make a few exceptions, since there are a few purchases that have been on my radar, wish list, and savings account list for awhile and might just be possible in July for a variety of reasons.  A solar oven (still debating this one).  A hand-crank LED lantern.  A fiddle or banjo or mandolin, oh my.  A futon.  Other than that, nada.

3.  I’ll be accounting for my spending during July here.  Hopefully, since I’m planning on not buying anything, the accounts will be brief, and focused on lack-of-shopping success as well as whether I made-do with something else, and whether I found myself facing down the dreaded temptation.

4.  At the end of the month, I’ll be evaluating how this all went and whether I want to continue.

Seems kinda straightforward, but I think that’s it.  Really, I don’t imagine it will be too much of a stretch – what’s been feeling like a lot of shopping recently has actually been not much at all, just more than usual.  I’d like to nip it in the bud, though, not get into the habit, and find other ways of getting what I need or want.

And so it begins…

Written by Jenn

July 1, 2010 at 8:46 am

Posted in Personal stuff

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

