Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Making do

leave a comment »

“Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without.”

I’ve been giving some more thought to my month of no shopping, both in terms of the guidelines that I want to follow, and what I want to accomplish (ugh…that sounds so formal and restrictive, which is really not what I’m going for, but no real matter, I suppose…)

As I said in a previous post, I kinda love the thrift store.  When there’s something I need, from baking pans to new books, that’s where I go first, sometimes in a moth-to-a-flame kind of way.  The preference is really three-fold.  First, I like supporting a charity with my purchases – it gives me more of the warm fuzzies than regular shopping ever has.  Second, I appreciate being able to keep perfectly good things out of a landfill.  Third, with my student budget, thrift stores are a very frugal way to get the things that I need at prices that won’t break the bank.

As I also said in my previous post, I think I’ve been liking the thrift store a bit too much this last year or so.  In my quest for a simpler and more homemade life I’ve been going in regularly for supplies – jars for sourdough, crocks for saurkraut, a grater for ginger for a ginger beer starter, and various other bits and pieces.  And alongside these supposed “needs” sometimes I also walk out with other things  that are even less needs at the time – books, art, and clothing, for example.

So, one of the things I want to get used to this month is making do with what I have.  Honestly, I used to be pretty good about that, and I’d like to reclaim and redevelop that particular focus.  Rather than running out to pick something up when I start a new venture – even if it is the thrift store – I’m going to see what I have around here that can serve the same purpose.

Of course, this may be a bit for nought.  My small-ish apartment is as well stocked as my depression-raised and depression-fearful grandmother’s entire house, so it’s entirely possible that I simply won’t stumble haphazardly across something that I “need” over the next month, and therefore won’t be tempted.  But if I do, I’ll definitely be making do, rather than making for the thrift store.

Written by Jenn

June 27, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Posted in Sustainable living

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

