Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Quiet foodie Sunday

leave a comment »

It was a quiet day today, as I’m usually of the opinion that Sundays should be.  I woke up early – as I do pretty much every day now – and had some time online before calling my dad and wishing him a happy father’s day.  I had some breakfast, took a bit of a bath while reading “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”, and then went for a bit of walk.  While I was out, I picked up some organic cocnut oil for baking and a book on keeping chickens (although that may go back in favour of a different one, once I’ve had a chance to look through it).

Although I had plans to write a bit this afternoon, they got a bit pushed aside in favour of a trip to the grocery store and some kitchen time.  Really, it needs to be cleaned before someone comes to look at the leaky fridge, but I also spent a good deal of time making food.

Garlic scapes were turned into a fresh, garlicky flax seed pesto and, with green onion and tomato from the market and basil from out back, became pizza.  The strawberries from the market and rhubarb from friends became what I think is my first-ever pie, complete with lattice top (pictures to follow – so proud!)

Tomorrow, work will get done, as will more cooking, and the eating of the tasty leftovers.  Today, I’ve cleaned the kitchen, made some good food, and learned to make some new things, which is just fine by me.

Written by Jenn

June 21, 2010 at 12:00 am

Posted in Eating well

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

