Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

More local foods

with 2 comments

I woke early this morning and ventured out to the farmer’s market at the north end of the city.  I was pretty excited about it yesterday, and wasn’t disappointed when I arrived this morning – more vendors than I expected, plus lots of great offerings.

I came home with a number of things in tow, and it probably would have been more if my fridge weren’t already fairly full.

Here we have: fresh lettuce, spring onions, beefsteak tomatoes, strawberries, cheese curds, Italian sausage, and bacon.

Since I currently have access to a car, I also took a trip up to the Arva Flour Mill, which is fairly close by.  I walked away with 5 kilos of locally milled flour (without preservatives), plus some of their wheat bran, which I’m looking forward to trying out.

While part of me does still get a bit weird about prices of things in general (I find that grad student funding and strict budgets can really mess with your relationship with money long-term), I really enjoyed shopping at the market and bringing home really good, really local food.  And, in all honesty, the strawberries alone were worth it.

Written by Jenn

June 18, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Posted in Eating well

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice too that you were able to avoid some plastic packaging. Those heavy paper bags that bulk items come in are good for mulching in the garden, especially in a lasagna or sheet mulching system. Direct recycling, plus a bit of carbon sequestration.

    • I really like when things come in at least recyclable packaging. I’m working on making some mesh produce bags now in the hopes that I can avoid future plastic at the market.

      Jenn

      June 19, 2010 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

