Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Local foods

leave a comment »

Today, I went with a friend to her mom’s place an hour away so she could leave for vacation – I brought her car back, and will be driving it while she’s away, mostly so the battery doesn’t die.

Her mom has a garden out back and they rarely if ever use all that they produce.  So, after hearing that I love garden-fresh produce and have an idea how to use it, she gave me a few things to bring home with me.

Fresh garlic scapes (some of which got used in fried rice tonight).

Rhubarb.

A jar of her apricot jam, canned from the apricots that grow on the tree in their backyard.

I am delighted beyond belief.  I love rhubard, scapes, and jam in general, but the fact that it was local (albeit with a bit of driving on my part) and grown in the backyard of someone I know is a really nice feeling.  Tomorrow, there will be scapes in my omlette, jam on my toast, and rhubarb crisp for dessert, and I will enjoy it all immensely.  So excited!

Written by Jenn

June 17, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Posted in Eating well

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

