Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Archive for June 16th, 2010

Upcoming projects

leave a comment »

Since I seem to be surprisingly productive recently, I’m hoping to get a few more projects off the ground soon.   Admittedly, I also need to work on the dissertation more, since it has been lagging a bit in the post-wedding exhaustion, but I’d like to get a few additional projects off the ground.

Container garden – my patio is in a rather questionable state.  I recently got rid of a pile of stuff from it – chairs and plant stands and general crap dropped by the neighbours, oh my! – but it still needs a whole lot of work.  Ideally, I’d like to pick up some extra seedlings to go along with my lone basil plant (which has sadly been besieged by bugs).  I have the pots for them, and although they could use some additional soil and a way to get them a bit more sun, I think this is a reasonable project, especially since I’ll be staying put for the rest of the summer.

Worm composter – I think (and hope perhaps somewhat too desperately) that I may have found a local supplier of composter-appropriate worms. Assuming that I’m not wrong, I’d like to start making my own compost.  Traditional composters aren’t typically allowed outside my building, but I could probably start a worm composter outside and then move it inside without anyone really noticing.  And, given that I need to beef up the soil for my much hoped-for container garden, a worm composter would come in rather handy on that end too.

Kombucha – I’ve only found one local supplier of the SCOBY needed to make kombucha, and their products are a bit on the expensive side.  Happily, I’ve found online instructions for making my own, and as soon as I can find a bottle of raw, organic kombucha, then I’m going to give that a try at home to see how it turns out.

That’s probably enough for now, since the death of my productivity usually comes when I have too much on the go at once.  But it’s nice to have something akin to a plan ready to go and specific things to work on over the next little while.

Written by Jenn

June 16, 2010 at 11:50 pm