Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

Fermented food

with 2 comments

While I’ve always loved food, I’ve found myself even more fascinated with it recently, especially in terms of making it.  I’ve always cooked much of my own food, but I increasingly find myself wanting to make even more now, and delving into new territory when it comes to time in the kitchen.

I got home from campus earlier than expected today, and spent a bit of time in the kitchen.  They don’t look like much yet, but the fruits of my labour are starters for sourdough bread and ginger beer.  They’re currently sitting in the warmth of my kitchen, waiting for yeast to happen along and for fermentation to begin.

I’ve cooked and baked a lot in time, but fermentation is new to me, and I have to admit that I’m excited in a weird way about it.  Actually, I don’t think I’ve been this excited about making food in a long time.  It’s exciting to be able to make something at such a fundamental level (goodness, who knows how I feel when I finally get to have chickens).  And, if this works out well, then it’s on to saurkraut and kimchee and maybe kefir.  And then?  Who knows?

Written by Jenn

June 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Posted in Eating well

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Right now, I have sauerkraut, dill pickles and yogurt “growing” in my kitchen. Everyday, I eat at least two of the three live foods. Fermented foods have a long history in many cultures. In Mexico, a fermented pineapple drink is made in certain regions and I hope to try to make it someday. Good for you for continuing this tradition.

    Cooking in Mexico

    June 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    • Sounds like you have a lot of good things coming along. I’d actually forgotten about yogurt, but it’s something that I’ve been meaning to try making myself.

      Jenn

      June 15, 2010 at 8:13 pm


Leave a Reply

