Urban Adaptation

Sustainable urban living, rural dreams, and daily change for a homemade life.

The first step

with 2 comments

I’ve realized that the first thing I need to do here, before anything else, is declutter.  Despite my continued reluctance to part with “The Stuff” (yes, the caps are necessary in this case, I think) there are a few reasons for this.

First, The Boy has recently moved in and, holy cow, the poor thing needs some more room.  He’s not bringing all that much stuff with him, but apparently I have enough stuff in here for something more like four people, and there just needs to be more room for him, and more room for the two of us together.

Second, it just plain ol’ drives me a wee little bit insane sometimes.  The stuff, it weighs me down, and some of it needs to go to lighten the load.  It’s hard to put things away because there’s too much other stuff to do it efficiently.  It’s hard to clean, and hard to manage.  At some point I will need to move from here, either for work, in pursuit of my farm dream, or – hopefully! – both.  The thought of moving the books alone makes me want to curl up under the table and whimper a bit, so out more of it goes.

Finally, I just want only what I really need.  The things that are good for my work, my long-term goals, my health – basically, the things that are good for the life I want.  The extraneous needs to go in order to simplify life a bit more and help me figure out what really matters in all of this, stuff-wise, at least.

Thus far, many, many bags of stuff have been removed from the apartment.  Clothes.  Housewares.  Books.  Fabric.  CDs.  Assorted things of indeterminate origin.  It was, I will admit, hard.  I have a hard time with waste, a hard time getting rid of stuff that still has use in it.  Much of it went back to the thrift store which, honestly, is where most of it came from anyway, so it’s not like pitching vast quantities of new things.  The transition is still a bit difficult in the moment, though, despite the fact that it feels quite good after the fact.

It’s the good moments that keep me going, though.  The feeling of clearing out space, or organizing my life, of editing down to those things that work for me and feel like they’re integral to the life I have and the life I want is really, in the end, pretty good.  There is, of course, still more on the way, but it’s off to a good start.

Written by Jenn

June 3, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Posted in Personal stuff

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Years ago I visited a friend who had the most wonderfully serene house. The energy was fantastic – it was welcoming, homey, calm. Her secret? She only kept things that met one of two categories: each item had to be either useful, or beautiful. Otherwise, out it went.

    I continue to struggle with clearing out my stuff, and it feels like an endless battle to get it under control. But I keep recalling my friends words – beautiful or useful – and do my best to toss everything else. I find it does get easier, and in fact becomes quite addictive. Good luck!

    ontariolocavore

    June 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    • I’d love to get my place to that point – serene, good energy, a good place to get away from it all. Happily, the more I get rid of stuff, the more it seems to become that kind of place. Certainly there’s more to do, but bit by bit I can feel it getting there which is lovely. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that it seems to get easier over time.

      Jenn

      June 19, 2010 at 4:28 pm


Leave a Reply

